CCT: Elizabeth L. Mahaffey Arts Administration Fellowship

Elizabeth L. Mahaffey Arts Administration Fellowship

{Steve Collins}


The Elizabeth L. Mahaffey Arts Administration Fellowship annually recognizes one exceptionally accomplished Connecticut arts administrator with a $2,500 award to be used for professional development activities.  To be eligible, administrators must be state residents employed by Connecticut nonprofit arts organizations (or involved in ongoing arts programs of nonprofit organizations, municipalities, colleges and universities).  Applicants must have at least seven years of professional arts administration experience, including three with their current organization.  Individuals must be full-time residents of the state. Administrators employed as consultants, contractors or subcontractors are not eligible to apply. Unpaid and volunteer staff members are also ineligible.

FY15 Guidelines: PDF
Application deadline: By 11:59 p.m. on Monday, February 2, 2015. Applications must be submitted via COA's e-granting portal at

The 2014 Elizabeth L. Mahaffey Fellowship recipient is Steve Collins, former Executive Director of the Waterbury Symphony Orchestra and currently the Director of Artistic Operations and Administration at the Hartford Symphony Orchestra.

Steve Collins is an accomplished business manager, musician, and educator. He is the Executive Director of the Waterbury Symphony Orchestra, and previously its Principal Timpanist. His work with the orchestra is focused on defining a new organizational vision centered on a contemporized concert experience and immersive education programming. The new vision includes a comprehensive artistic vision statement, increased concert performances throughout Northwest Connecticut, a collaborative relationship with artistic leadership, innovative programs for children, a three year strategic plan, rebranding campaign and expanded administrative staff. Under his direction, the orchestraís endowed and designated funds have more than quadrupled in less than five years, while net income has increased and reversed a four year trend of operational deficits.

Prior to the Waterbury Symphony Orchestra, Mr. Collins was the Education Director for the New Haven Symphony Orchestra where he produced concerts and education events ranging from solo performances to full orchestra engagements for over 30,000 children and families throughout Connecticut. Additionally, Mr. Collins served as Librarian and Education Consultant for the Greater Bridgeport Symphony, where he implemented the first fully integrated educational program. In 2014, Mr. Collins became the Director of Artistic Operations and Administration at the Hartford Symphony Orchestra. 

Mr. Collins holds a Bachelorís Degree in Music from the Hartt School of Music. He performs with the New Haven, Hartford, and Greater Bridgeport symphony orchestras, Goodspeed Musicals, and chamber ensembles across the tri-state area. He has appeared as soloist with the Waterbury and Bridgeport Symphonies, and has educated countless children during 25 years of teaching throughout Connecticut. He is a member of the Percussive Arts Society and American Federation of Musicians, and serves on the governing council of the Arts and Culture Collaborative, Waterbury Region.

Past Elizabeth L. Mahaffey Fellowship recipients:

For more information, contact
Rhonda F. Olisky at 860-256-2752 or


Content Last Modified on 10/27/2014 1:44:25 PM