CCT: National Historic Landmarks

National Historic Landmarks

The National Park Service conducts National Historic Landmark surveys for the U.S. Secretary of the Interior in order to identify, designate, recognize and encourage the preservation of buildings, districts, structures, sites and objects that possess national significance. Potential landmark properties are evaluated by the National Park Systemís Advisory Board (a committee of scholars and interested citizens) and recommended by them to the Secretary of the Interior for designation. Connecticut currently has approximately sixty (60) National Historic Landmarks, ranging in period from the Nathan Hale Homestead in Coventry and the Mashantucket Pequot Reservation Archaeological District in Ledyard to Philip Johnsonís Glass House in New Canaan.

For more information, contact
 Jenny Scofield

Content Last Modified on 9/22/2017 11:36:19 AM