CCT: Certified Local Government Program

Certified Local Government Program

Local governments may strengthen their local historic preservation efforts by achieving Certified Local Government status from the National Park Service.  The Certified Local Government (CLG) program creates a local, state and federal partnership that promotes historic preservation at the grassroots level.  The CLG program seeks to develop and maintain local historic preservation programs that will influence the zoning and permitting decisions critical to preserving historic properties, and to ensure the broadest possible participation of local governments in the national historic preservation program while maintaining the preservation standards established by the U.S. Secretary of the Interior.  For more information on the federal Certified Local Government program, visit

In Connecticut, Certified Local Government certification applications are filed with Mary Dunne, Local Government Grants Coordinator, Historic Preservation and Museum Division of the Commission on Culture & Tourism.  Certified Local Governments may apply for Historic Preservation Enhancement Grants (HPEG) and Supplemental Certified Local Government Grants (SCLG)

How to become a CLG

Any general purpose political subdivision (e.g., city, town, borough) which can provide the Connecticut Commission on Culture & Tourism with the following documentation is eligible to apply for designation as a Certified Local Government in Connecticut.

The chief elected official of the local government shall request certification as a Certified Local Government. The request shall include the following:

(a) Written assurance by the chief elected official that the local government fulfills the program requirements as described in the Certified Local Government program manual.

(b) Copy of the local historic district/property study report(s) and/or ordinance(s) adopted pursuant to C.G.S., Section 7-147 containing but not necessarily limited to the following:

(1)  Statement of purpose;
(2)  Definitions;
(3)  Specific membership and duties of historic district/ property commission;|
(4)  Criteria for designation of local historic district and/or properties;
(5)  Designations for public notification of public hearings on designation;
(6)  Provisions for public notification of public hearings on designation;
(7)  Mandatory review of alterations, demolitions, or new construction within the boundaries of listed historic districts  and/or properties;
(8)  Specific design guidelines to be used by the historic preservation review commission. (Note: The U.S. Secretary  of the Interior's Standards for Rehabilitation may be  adopted pursuant to the ordinance to fulfill this requirement.)
(9)  Specific timeframes for review of alternatives;
(10) List of historic districts and/or properties designated under  the ordinance, together with boundary maps and statements of historical and/or architectural significance for each district/property;
(11) Penalties for non-compliance with local historic preservation ordinance.

(c) Resumes demonstrating the interest of each member of the historic preservation review commission in historic preservation, including where appropriate, credentials or member expertise in field related to historic preservation.

(d) Copy of the local historic preservation plan, if available, or a statement describing the existing/proposed local preservation program, including survey, designation, and protection activities.

(e) Statement of how staff requirements will be met which is acceptable to the CHC.

(f) A copy of the municipality's conflict of interest policy established pursuant to C.G.S., Section 7-479, or an affidavit from the municipality's chief executive officer stating that the municipality will adhere to the General provisions outlined by said statute in all Certified Local Government program-related activities.

(g) A statement outlining the process utilized by the municipality to appoint members to its local historic district and/or property commission, and an assurance that the municipality will make a reasonable good faith effort to ensure that at least 2 of this commission's members/alternates meet the professional requirements outlined in 36 CFR 61 Appendix A, as described on the attached sheet.

(h) A copy of the local historic district(s) and/or properties commissions rules of procedures.

(i) The name, mailing address and phone number, fax and e-mail address of the municipality's CLG Program Coordinator/Contact.



Historic Preservation Enhancement Grants (HPEG)

With federal funds provided by the Historic Preservation Fund of the National Park Service, SHPO awards Historic Preservation Enhancement Grants (HPEG). HPEG may be used by municipalities that are approved by the National Park Service, U.S. Department of the Interior as Certified Local Governments. HPEG may be used to support activities sponsored by municipal historic district commissions that enhance the historic district commissions administrative capabilities, strengthen local preservation programs and produce public education materials and activities.

Historic Preservation Enhancement Grant Guidelines

Supplemental Certified Local Government Grants

With state funds provided by the Community Investment Act, SHPO awards Supplemental Certified Local Government grants (SCLG). SCLG grants may be used by municipalities that are approved by the National Park Service, U.S. Department of the Interior as Certified Local Governments. SCLG grants may be used to support activities sponsored by CLG municipalities for a wide range of historic preservation planning activities. Applications will be accepted on a monthly basis as long as funds are available. SCLG grants will be available on an annual basis; however, municipalities may have only one active SCLG grant at a time.

Supplemental CLG Grant Guidelines


CLG Grant Application


Vendor Profile and W-9 Forms

Certified Resolution Sample

Professional Services Selection Process


For more information, contact 
Mary Dunne at 860-500-2356 or

{Get Adobe Acrobat}    Adobe Acrobat® Reader is needed to view PDF files.
How to Use Acrobat Reader-Enabled Forms


Content Last Modified on 11/17/2017 11:19:01 AM