CCT: State Troubadour - Nekita Waller

2018 - 2021 Connecticut State Troubadour Nekita Waller

{Nekita Waller}

There was never a question that music would be a part of Nekita Waller's life. From her stage debut as a teen at the famous Apollo Theater in Harlem, to singing the National Anthem to thousands of spectators at professional sporting events as an adult, music defines Nekita's life.

Nekita's diverse musical journey has taken her through chorus groups, musical theater, Hartt School of Music, Gospel in church, and mentoring and performing with many independent artists. Nekita has shared the stage with artists, B.B. King, Ruben Studdard, Dianne Reeves and performed on the Steve Harvey Radio Show, heard on more than 60 radio stations and by approximately six million weekly listeners. Nekita is an experienced studio session artist as a recording artist, lending her vocal talent on projects with Grammy and Emmy award winning producers.

Nekita performs with her band of accomplished musicians throughout the region bringing a mix of pop, Motown, soul, Jazz and classic rock favorites with original music. As a soloist, she sings the National Anthem for the NBA, WNBA, and DIV I College sports teams.


Nekita wants to use this title to visit schools and meet children who don’t have the same level of opportunities afforded to them as others. “Music is my purest form of communication. It doesn’t care how much money you have, where you were born, the color of your skin, or how old you are,” notes Nekita. “There is no greater feeling or purpose than to help another person. Whether it is to make someone smile, dance, brighten their day or help them reach a better level of themselves, this is life’s greatest award.”


Learn more about Nekita on her website.

Past State Troubadour
2016-2018  Kate Callahan

2013-2015  Kristen Graves
2011-2012  Chuck Costa
2009-2010  Lara Herscovitch
2007-2008  Pierce Campbell
2005-2006  Thomasina Levy 
Dennis Waring
2001-2002  Kevin Briody
1999-2000  Hugh Blumenfield
1998           Jeff and Synia McQuillan
Sally Rogers
1996           Mike Kachuba
Bill Pere
1994           Phil Rosenthal
1993           Sandy and Caroline Paton
1991-1992  Tom Callinan

Content Last Modified on 6/21/2018 12:45:46 PM