CCT: Connecticut Arts Council & Connecticut Arts Council Foundation

Connecticut Arts Council & Connecticut Arts Council Foundation


The Connecticut Arts Council was established within the Department of Economic and Community Development (DECD) by Public Act 13-247.

The Council members are appointed by the Governor and legislative leaders for a maximum of two (2) three-year or four-year terms.

The Council consists of thirteen (13) members; with the commissioner of the Department of Economic and Community Development serving in an ex officio, voting capacity; and one (1) member, a designated DECD staff person serving in an ex officio, non-voting capacity.  The Council relies on staff support from the Connecticut Office of the Arts. 

Fritz Jellinghaus, Chairman
{Chairman Fritz Jellinghaus} As a consultant, senior executive and board member, Fritz Jellinghaus has had a 40-year career fundraising for leading arts, cultural and educational organizations, as well as advising major corporations on corporate social responsibility and cultural marketing. Jellinghaus is currently Vice President of Development at Lyme Academy College of Fine Arts in Old Lyme. Prior to joining the College, he was Director of Leadership Giving at Stepping Stones Museum for Children in Norwalk. He was te founder and president of several consulting businesses, including Jellinghaus & Associates, Inc., a New York City and Chester, Connecticut, marketing/fundraising consulting firm that developed and promoted alliances between business and cultural/educational organizations. He is President Emeritus of the Cultural Alliance of Fairfield County and a member of the steering committee to establish the Southeastern Connecticut Cultural Coalition. In the late 80’s and early 90’s, he was a three-term appointee of the Connecticut Speaker of the House to the state Commission on the Arts. He has been a board member of the International Festival of Arts & Ideas, the Aldrich Museum of Contemporary Art, the Science Center of Connecticut, the Palm Beach County Cultural Task Force, and the and the Westport Arts Center.

Pedro Bermudez - image & bio pending
Christopher Bruhl - image & bio pending
Jan Dilenschneider- Image & bio pending
Helen Klisser During
{Headshot of Helen During} Helen Klisser During shares her passion, insight and comprehensive understanding of the art world with clients by providing introductions, connections and direct access to major artists' studios, new talent, leading galleries, museums, art fairs, auction houses and private collections globally.  She is an international consultant to Gibbs Farm (New Zealand) and The Hall Art Foundation (Massachusetts, Vermont, and Germany); and serves as International Ambassador for Auckland Art GalleryAuckland University of Technology (New Zealand), The Aspen Institute Initiative (New Zealand), and UN Live: Museum for the United Nations (Denmark). Helen is a founding member of the Connecticut Arts Council, Chair of the Connecticut Artists Collection Advisory Committee, and the co-founder of #UNLOAD: Arts Trigger a Conversation, a statewide organization to promote conversation through the arts about gun violence prevention. In addition, Helen is an award-winning photojournalist who has taken on assignments worldwide, including for The United Nations in Africa, AmeriCares in South America, and Carma Foundation in Haiti. Helen is the still photographer for Gaylene Preston's 2016 documentary film "My Year with Helen," and her photographs have been published in a wide range of national and international publications.  
Secretary Mary Ellen Eckells - Image & bio pending

Titus Kaphar

{Titus Kaphar} Titus Kaphar was born in 1976 in Kalamazoo, Michigan. He currently lives and works in New Haven, Connecticut.  His artworks interact with the history of art by appropriating its styles and mediums.  Kaphar received an MFA from the Yale School of Art and is a distinguished recipient of numerous prizes and awards including a 2014 Gwendolyn Knight and Jacob Lawrence Fellowship, a 2015 Creative Capital grant, a 2016 Robert R. Rauschenberg Artist as Activist grant and a 2018 Art for Justice Fund grantee.  In late 2014, TIME magazine commissioned Kaphar to create an artwork in response to protests in Ferguson, Missouri. Kaphar gave a TED talk at the annual conference in Vancouver, 2017.  He completed his whitewash painting, Shifting the Gaze, onstage.  Kaphar's work has been included in solo and group exhibitions at Seattle Art Museum, Seattle, WA; the Studio Museum in Harlem, New York, NY; MoMA PS1, Long Island City, NY and the National Portrait Gallery, Washington, DC.  His work is included in the collections of Crystal Bridges Museum, Bentonville, AK, 21C Museum, multiple locations, The Museum of Modern Art, New York, NY; Brooklyn Museum, Brooklyn, NY and the Pérez Art Museum Miami (PAMM), Miami, Florida, amongst others. 

Catherine Smith, ex officio

Ted Yudain, Treasurer 

{Ted Yudain} Ted Yudain is a practicing attorney and actor. First appointed to the Connecticut Commission on the Arts in the late 1990’s, he served at various times as its treasurer and its vice-chair.  After the commission’s merger with the commissions on tourism, history, culture and film, he served as chair of the Arts Committee, a post he continued until the committee’s replacement by the Connecticut Arts Council.  He has served on the boards, and as president, of non-profit theater organizations, and currently chairs the board of a non-profit theatre in Stamford.  He resides in Stamford with his actress wife.
The Connecticut Arts Council Foundation
The Connecticut Arts Council manages a nonprofit foundation, the Connecticut Arts Council Foundation.  The Foundation can receive, solicit, contract for and collect funds (or any other things tangible or intangible) and disburse funds for purposes of fostering the creation, preservation and expansion of the arts in the state.
The members of the Conneticut Arts Council serve as the board of directors of the Connecticut Arts Council Foundation.   The Foundation relies on staff support from the Connecticut Office of the Arts.
Board of Directors

Fritz Jellinghaus,
Pedro Bermudez
Christopher Bruhl
Jan Dilenschneider

Helen During
Mary Ellen Eckells, Secretary
Titus Kaphar
Catherine Smith,
ex officio
 Ted Yudain, Treasurer




Content Last Modified on 9/19/2018 2:30:07 PM